Nibali won with a masterpiece the last Milano-San Remo

Today it is one of the five Monuments of cycling. It was the opening race of the UCI Road World Cup series until the series was replaced by the UCI ProTour in 2005 and the World Tour in 2011. Milan–San Remo and the other four Monuments are now the one-day races in which most World Tour points are awarded.
The most successful rider with seven victories is Belgian Eddy Merckx, Italian Costante Girardengo achieved 11 podium finishes in the interwar period, winning the race six times.
In modern times, German Erik Zabel and Spaniard Óscar Freire have recorded four and three wins respectively.
Milan–San Remo is considered a sprinters classic because of its mainly flat course, whereas the other Italian Monument race, the Giro di Lombardia, held in autumn, is considered a climbers classic.